Owls

So, owls have nothing to do with whales, but this is cool. I entered an owl coloring contest for the Pueblo owl festival and I won 2nd place! I didn’t get to pick my adopt a raptor, but now my homeschool group is the proud adopter of Guffey the great horned owl. Guffey lives at the raptor center. Guffey flew into a car near the town of Guffey, Colorado. He was admitted to the center as a youngster with mild head concussion. Further examination revealed an old wing injury that had left him with poor flight ability. The wing was probably injured while he was in the nest., possibly one of his older siblings stepped on him. After Guffey recovered from his head injury, he was placed in our flight cage for several months to see if exercise would help his flight ability. Time revealed no improvement and it was determined he would not be able to return to the wild.

Here is my picture I colored.

Here I am getting my award.

And here is Guffey.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

